HDA Leadership

Our Board of Directors, Executive Leadership & Program Staff

The Housing Development Alliance (HDA) is headed by an executive leadership team – led by Executive Director Scott McReynolds – and program staff that have given decades of service to the people of Appalachia and believe that no family should live in poverty and that every family has the right to own a high quality, long-lasting, affordable home.

The work of the Housing Development Alliance is overseen by a board of directors representing various aspects of the local community, including at least two members who are low-income. HDA’s board is responsible for establishing policy and guiding the Alliance’s work to build, repair, rehabilitate, develop, improve, and preserve housing in the southeastern Kentucky counties of Breathitt, Knott, Leslie, and Perry.

HDA Board of Directors Monthly Meetings

HDA's board meets on the last Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the conference room of HDA's office building on North Main Street in Hazard, KY. 

Board of Directors

Jonathan Collins
Attorney at Law – Hollins & Collins
Director of Contract Review & Development – Appalachian Regional Healthcare (ARH)
Hazard, KY

Vice Chair
Johnie Akers
Senior Project Manager – WellCare Health Plans of Kentucky
Pastor – Big Creek Pentecostal Church
Hazard, KY

Emily Hudson
Pastor – CommonBond Christian Fellowship Ministries
Hazard, KY

Morgan Kirk
Community Engagement Manager – WellCare Health Plans of Kentucky
Hazard, KY

Betsy Clemons

Hazard-Perry County Chamber of Commerce – Executive Director 
Hazard, KY

Derek Lewis

KY State Representative – Laurel, Leslie & Clay counties
Hometown Pharmacy – Manager/Owner
Hyden, KY



Bobby Duff

Hazard, KY

Joanie Baker-Combs

Adult Education Teacher – Kentucky Community & Technical College System (KCTCS)
Chavies, KY

Annie Williams

Systems Ambulatory Specialist – Appalachian Regional Healthcare (ARH)
Lost Creek, KY

Our Staff of Carpenters

What makes HDA different from other affordable housing developers? It's our staff of professional carpenters. The Alliance's work stands out in the community because of their talents and service. Be sure to find out more about them!

HDA Staff

Scott McReynolds

Executive Director

Chris Doll

Chief Operating Officer

Amie Bedwell

Finance Director

John Rudd Caudill

Director of Construction

Pam Short

Housing Counselor

Max Temple

Repair Program Manager & Home Rehab Coordinator

Shannon Gabbard

Hope Building Director

Mindy Miller

Director of Development & Communications

Jane Rose Britton

Volunteer & Community Coordinator

Frank Morris


Don Feltner

Land AgenT

Cyndi Mancillas

Grant Compliance & Reporting Manager

Betty Green

Staff Accountant

Nikki Hurley

Accounting Clerk

Courtney Hylton


CDFI Staff

Redbud Financial Alternatives

Louis Irvin

CDFI Director

Gary Brewer

CDFI Loan Officer